Silhouette art

When I started working at Tokyo Disney Resort, I knew getting my drawings down to 5mins per person, was gonna be hard enough,…
But, cutting a silhouette of a man in 3 minutes! No way!

The sketch took me about that long.

photo-05-12-2016-15-34-21

That’s when my boss told me, “we don’t sketch”.

You mean, I have to learn how to cut a silhouette of someone in 3mins, and from start to finish with scissors, no sketch!?

That was crazy! Impossible! That was then.

That was nearly 4 years ago, and since then I’ve cut more than 20,000 silhouettes of people. Similar to this.

photo-05-12-2016-16-10-52

I’ve also drawn more than 20,000 caricatures (or cartoony portrait).

Like this Google search for silhouettes

And here’s some history on silhouette art. Silhouette history

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment